Oct 102013
 

Coming-Soon_SDCCFlyer-1

EXHIBITION: COMING SOON: an art exhibition of imaginary film posters and design
LOCATION: Meltdown Comics [in the Meltdown Gallery/NerdMelt Showroom 7522 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90046
ON VIEW: October 11, 2013 – October 20, 2013
OPENING RECEPTION: Friday October 11, 2013 from 6pm to 10pm
COMING SOON: an art exhibition of imaginary film posters and design
Celebrating the 20th anniversary of Meltdown Comics!

[Los Angeles, CA – September 10, 2013] Meltdown Comics and NerdMelt Showroom in association with Rhyme Warp Productions Present a chamanvision production – COMING SOON: an art exhibition of imaginary film posters and design. COMING SOON is an art exhibition of all-new original artworks based on unfinished or unmade science-fiction, thriller and horror film concepts by renown film directors Stanley Kubrick, Alfred Hitchcock, Akira Kurosawa, Andrei Tarkovsky and Orson Welles. The exhibition also features artworks based on original concepts for Twin Peaks films, Walt Disney cartoons, Krazy Kat shorts and kaiju monster movies. The name of the exhibition, COMING SOON, is a play on the common term used to incite interest for upcoming film releases. The exhibition features artworks by a wide range of artists from graphic design, comics, illustration, toy design, fine art, animation, graffiti and music videos.

Special Events:
Opening Reception:
Friday October 11, 2013 – Opening Reception with artist panel and live music: 6pm to 10pm, free and open to the public
Rhyme Travelers comic book release event: Saturday October 19, 2013: Rhyme Travelers comic book release event with live painting and DJ: 2pm to 4pm, free and open to the public

Exhibition dates:
October 11 through October 20, 2013

Location: Meltdown Comics [in the Meltdown Gallery/NerdMelt Showroom]
7522 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90046
www.meltcomics.com @meltdowncomics
Hours: Meltdown Gallery/NerdMelt Showroom is open during Meltdown Comics store hours – Everyday 11am-9pm, Wednesday 10am-10pm
Admission: Free and open to the public

 

Coming-Soon_SDCCFlyer-2

Exhibition Artists:
Unification Theory (www.crewest.com/artists/utheory.html)
Overton Loyd (www.overtonloydstudios.com)
O.G. SLICK (DISSIZIT! LOS ANGELES)
CHANMEN (Gargamel, flavors.me/chanmen)
Joshua Herbolsheimer (Super7)
Ave Rose (www.AveRoseArt.com)
Hilda Garcia (Hilda Garcia Fine Art)
Kiyoshi Takami (view from above)
Katy Unger (www.katyunger.com)
Carlos Anthony Olivas (www.fondlemag.com, www.anthonyolivas.com)
Holly Stephens (Miss Holly Lu)
Diwang Valdez (Cashew Co. / Motion Family)
Adolfo Garcia
Sean McNairy
Dave Kawano
Debbie Huey (Bumperboy Comics, www.bumperboy.net)
Kevin Reagan (www.kevinreagandesign.com)
Josh Ellingson (www.joshuaellingson.com)
Syndrome (www.syndromestudio.com)
Naheed Choudhry/Naheedence Photographic (www.naheedence.com)
Hideki Nakajima (www.nkjm-d.com)
Fernando Reza (Fro Design Co)
Tadaomi Shibuya (www.tadaomishibuya.tumblr.com)
SINER
Dave Smith
Alan Oldham (www.alanoldham.com)
Dez Einswell (www.dezeinswell.com)
Lalo Alcaraz (www.laloalcaraz.com)
Danielle N. Kramer
Josh Karp
Stephen Chang
Kenny Keil (www.talestosuffice.com)
Gustavo Alberto Garcia Vaca (chamanvision, Rhyme Travelers)
DJ Nomadico  (www.ur061.com)

Comment