Latest News and Events
Home
Archives
Search the Meltdown Archives
Home » Archives » May 2007 » “Karan Koron” A Geta Art Exhibition

[Previous entry: "Elephant Eater 2007 Summer tour comes to Meltdown 5.09.07"] [Next entry: "Left on Mission Release Party 5/16 7PM"]

05/10/2007: "“Karan Koron” A Geta Art Exhibition"

Check out the slide show!
karan koron



Melt Gallery is proud to present Karan Koron – A Geta Art Exhibition. Karan Koron – A Geta Art Exhibition is a large-scale group exhibition curated by none other than Los Angeles and Mexico’s Pioneering graffiti artist, Galo “Make” Canote, that features over 60 artists: internationally acclaimed Japanese artists, local and underground artists, and legendary graffiti artists.

“Karan Koron”
A Geta Art Exhibition


Thursday, June 14th 2007
Los Angeles – CA, Melt
Gallery is proud to present Karan Koron – A Geta Art Exhibition. 
Karan Koron – A Geta Art Exhibition is a large-scale group
exhibition curated by none other than Los Angeles and Mexico’s Pioneering
graffiti artist, Galo “Make” Canote, that features over 60 artists:
internationally acclaimed Japanese artists, local and underground artists, and
legendary graffiti artists.

Each artist will customize a
pair of getas.  Getas are a traditional Japanese footwear worn with traditional
Japanese clothing such as kimono or yukata.  “Karan Koron”, the title of
the show, is the distinctive "clacking" sound made while walking with getas. 
Karan Koron is often mentioned as one of the sounds the older Japanese miss
the most in modern life.

Karan Koron
is an amazing opportunity to view and purchase custom works by more than 60
world-renowned artists. In an attempt to combine the eastern and western world
of artistry, over 60 original pairs of getas will be painted, sculpted, carved,
and drawn on by contemporary artists highly recognized in the art industry
today.  The artists range from emerging artists, local and underground artists
from Japan, LA and Mexico, legendary graffiti artists, to students and lecturers
of Musachino Art University in Japan.

koron (98k image)

The artists participating are:

Alex Kizu - Alex Chems Shinohara - Angrywoebots (www.armyofsnipers.com) - Asylm (www.asylm.sh) - Axis (www.stylepig.com) - Baki Baki (www.yamaokohei.com) - Bene/XBX (www.xbx.jp) - Besk - Big Pranks - Cab-LOD - Dave Kawano - Dash (www.dash2000.com) - DEZ (www.dezeinswell.com) - DMD - Doc43 (www.docdesigns.net) - Dyal-EYOS - EGR  (www.egrart.com) - FreddiC (www.freddic.com) - Fuco UEDA (www.geocities.jp/uedafuco) - Fudemae (www.fudemae.com) - Gajin Fujita - Gaku Shinohara - JIRO www.jirotat.com - Kenta TOKYODRIVE (www.KentaOgawara.com) - King157 – Kofie (www.keepdrafting.com) - Koji Iijijima (www.kojiijima.com) - KLovich - LUN*NAH (www.lunnamenoh.com) - ManOne (www.manone.com) - Mandoe-MAK - Mari Inukai (www.mariinukai.com) - Matt - MHAK! (http://continuation.jp/ak) - Miki Amano (www.mikiamano.com) - Minchi (www.minchi.info) - Nana Satake - Nathan Spoor (www.nathanspoor.com) - Newz - Oeil (www.oeil.jp) - OG Abel (www.ogabel.com) - OGI (www.ogigraphics.com) - Oscar Magallanes - 179 (www.onesevennine.com) - Patrick Martinez (www.patrickmartinez.com) - Peque-VRS - Prime-K2S - Johnny Quintana (www.johnnyquintana.com) - Relic-STN - Retna (www.marquislewis.com) - Rinka Sato - Saeko Takagi (www.saekotakagi.com) - Sano - Scribe-DF (www.scribeswalk.com) - Sense - Sergio Robleto - Shohei Mizuguchi (www.k4.dion.ne.jp/~ophrys/index.html) - Sherm (www.shermgrafik.com) - SizerOne - Slick-K2S (www.dissizslix.com) - Suiko1 (www.suiko1.com) - SUKE (www.suketattoo.com) - Tsukuru - UAMOU (www.uamou.com) - Usugrow (www.usugrow.com) - Vivienne Kick - (www.kick-n-roll.com) - Vyal - (www.vyalone.com) - Yoskay Yamamoto - (www.yoskay.com)  - Yuki Miyazaki (www.yukistuff.com) - Monster5 - Felipe Smith (www.felipesmith.com) and more....